Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules and Regulations

Birdwell Wheelers Open 29 km Time Trial Road bikes only event Saturday 17th April 2021– Finish Sheet



www.birdwellwheelerscyclingclub.co.uk

Event secretary: Trevor Mayne

01226 370242/ 07786 525595 trevormayne11@gmail.com

First of all, many thanks to all the riders and helpers in making this event a success – we understand that this was the first Open TT in the North Midlands CTT District since the easing of the second lockdown and everybody seemed keen to get back to racing. Having said that, we almost postponed with 3 weeks to go as only 22 people had entered this and the TT-bikes event which followed! Good job we hung in there...

We were blessed with superb weather – sunny, almost still and warm enough. We think everyone enjoyed their ride and it was nice to get plenty of positive feedback from competitors after the event. Most liked the challenge given by the rolling course – perhaps particularly the 'refugees' from road-racing and triathlon?!

Thank you for bearing with us regarding the lack of a formal HQ – we gave up counting the number of venues that didn't even return a phone message or an e-mail. And thanks for the considerate parking – we find it hard to believe we got no complaints from the residents. Perhaps the biggest shock was that West Yorkshire Police's named contact for the Police Notification Form actually turned up to observe signing on/ off for half an hour – and told the Event Sec that he was also the national Police lead for racing on open roads: no pressure there then!

Many congratulations to all the prizewinners. The closest result may have been for the team prize, where only 14 seconds separated the winning Hull Thursday RC team (Mark Walker, Josh Ravn and Mark Robinson) from the Geared Up & CN RT (Thomas Davison, Michael Bray and Jules Chadderton).

Prizes:

(N.B. One rider - one prize, barring team prize. There are no trophies for the road bike event.)

1 st Woman £30	Emma Smith (Elmsall RC)	58.32
1 st Male £30	Billy Robinson (Cycling Sheffield)	40.19
2 nd Male £25	Andy Nichols (Team Lifting Gear Products/ CIM	40.45
3 rd Male £20	Matthew Lock (Cliff Pratt Racing)	40.51
1 st Juvenile or Junior £20	Ethan Roberts-Cutts (North Midlands YS)	43.22
1 st Male Veteran (40-49 yrs) £15	David Shackleton (Wilsons Wheels RT)	41.53
1 st Male Veteran (50-59 yrs) £15	Ian Russell (Moda RT)	42.59
1 st Male Veteran (60+) £15	Mark Robinson (Hull Thursday RC)	46.25

Fastest Team of 3 (Lowest aggregate time): 3 x £15:

Mark Walker, Josh Ravn, Mark Robinson - Hull Thursday RC (2 hrs 10mins 44s).

Some photos of the event were taken by Ian Chapman Photography – if you would like to buy some please see Ian's website gallery here: 17/04/2021 Birdwell Wheelers TT: Ian Chapman Photography

Helpers (Birdwell Wheelers unless stated):

Event Secretary – Trevor Mayne
Start Tlmekeeper –Jan Wilson
Start assistant – Malc Wilson
Start area marshal – Kevin Broadhead
Hoyle Mill TI – David Cass, Sheffrec CC
Beamshaw TI – Austin Watson
Minsthorpe Lane TI – Ian Ambler, Rockingham CC
Ackworth Moor Top TI – Alan Bullock
Royd Moor Lane turnoff – Dave Jarvis
Finish Tlmekeeper – Phil Minto
Finish Clerk – Christine Minto
Checker (finish) – Steve Myatt
Signing on/ off – Trevor Mayne
Parking marshal – Allan Whittaker

Birdwell Wheelers Open 29km time trial - Road Bike Event (O29K) 17/4/21 - Results - Riders' Times

				time
position	firstname	lastname	club	hh:mm:ss
1	Billy	Robinson	CYCLING SHEFFIELD	00:40:19
2	Andy	Nichols	Team Lifting Gear Products/Cycles In Motion	00:40:45
3	Matthew	Lock	Cliff Pratt Racing	00:40:51
4	Mark	Walker	Hull Thursday RC	00:41:44
5	Danny	Winfield	Racing Team Dawson	00:41:45
6	David	Shackleton	Wilsons Wheels RT	00:41:53
7	Nigel	Modlinsky	Element Cycling Team	00:42:11
8	Josh	Ravn	Hull Thursday RC	00:42:21
9	Thomas	Davison	Geared Up & CN Cycles RT	00:42:52
10	Michael	Bray	Geared Up & CN Cycles RT	00:42:54
11	lan	Russell	Moda Racing Team	00:42:59
12	Martin	Nelson	Out of the Saddle CC	00:43:15
13	Ethan	Roberts-Cutts	North Midland Youth Squad	00:43:22
14	Lewis	Smith	Calder Clarion	00:43:58
15	Jude	Milburn	Rutland Cycling Club	00:44:42
16	Richard	Moore	Squadra RT	00:44:44
17	Andrew	Hicklin	Peak Road Club	00:44:47
18	Michael	Newton	Peak Road Club	00:44:54
19	Jules	Chadderton	Geared Up & CN Cycles RT	00:44:58
20	Matt	Ellmore	Otley CC	00:45:05
21	Dominic	Watts	Veloviewer	00:45:26
22	Jimmy	Froggatt	SKCC	00:45:27
23	Jonathan	Dibble	Wilsons Wheels RT	00:46:10
24	Mark	Robinson	Hull Thursday RC	00:46:25
25	Chris	Venters	Birdwell Wheelers	00:46:30
26	Paul	Kearney	Cheshire Maverick Cycle Club	00:46:34
27	Chris	Ashworth	Sheffrec CC	00:46:34
28	Jake	Hagyard	Rutland Cycling Club	00:47:21
29	Andrew	Jackson	Moda Racing Team	00:47:44
30	Steven	Wigglesworth	Elmsall Road Club	00:47:46

31	Alexander	Broadhead	Rockingham CC	00:48:04
32	Daniel	Emery	Birdwell Wheelers	00:48:49
33	Jake	Harrison	Rutland Cycling Club	00:49:33
34	Marc	Peasegood	Birdwell Wheelers	00:49:57
35	Paul	Hagyard	Worrall Wheelers	00:50:05
36	Mark	Minting	Dinnington Racing Club	00:52:10
37	Jon	Staniforth	Team Sheffield	00:52:13
38	John	Woodhouse	Birdwell Wheelers	00:53:51
39	Emma	Smith	Elmsall Road Club	00:58:32
	Paul	Stewart	Moda Racing Team	DNF
	Gordon	Wordsworth	Rutland Cycling Club	DNF
	Rich	Banks	Calder Clarion	DNS - APOLS
	Greg	Godley	Birdwell Wheelers	DNS
	Richard	Lucas	Mapperley CC	DNS